Search

Are you looking for test card numbers?

Would you like to contact support?

Online-payment icon

Cancel

Cancel the authorisation on an uncaptured payment.

Cancel or refund

If you want to cancel a payment but are not sure whether it has been captured, use our cancel or refund functionality.

For some payment methods, the payment is completed in two steps:

  1. Authorisation – The payment details of the shopper are verified, and the funds are reserved.
  2. Capture –  The reserved funds are transferred from the shopper to your account. 

If you have authorised a payment but do not wish to capture it, for example because an item is out of stock, you need to cancel the authorisation. If the payment has already been captured, you need to refund it instead.

There are two ways to cancel a payment: 

In your call to the (/cancel) endpoint, you need to specify the pspReference of the original payment. If you don't have this reference, for example because of a timeout error, you can use our technical cancel functionality.

Cancel with an API call

In your request to the /cancel endpoint, specify: 

  • merchantAccount: The name of your merchant account that is used to process the payment.
  • originalReference: The pspReference of the original payment request. This is included in the response to your payment request, and in the AUTHORISATION notification.
  • reference: Optionally, you can specify your own reference for this /cancel request.
{
    "merchantAccount" : "YOUR_MERCHANT_ACCOUNT",
    "originalReference" : "8313547924770610",
    "reference" : "YOUR_MODIFICATION_REFERENCE"
}

You will receive a /cancel response containing: 

  • pspReference: The PSP reference associated with this /cancel request. This is different from the PSP reference associated with the original payment request. 
{
    "pspReference" : "8412534564722331",
    "response" : "[cancel-received]"
}

CANCELLATION notifications

Once we have processed your cancel request, we will send you a notification with:

  • eventCodeCANCELLATION.
  • pspReference: Same as the pspReference in the /cancel response.
  • success: Indicates whether the cancel request was successful. Possible values:

    • true: the cancel request was successful.
    • false:  the cancel request failed. The notification includes a reason field with a short description of the problem. Review the reason, fix the issue if possible, and resubmit the cancel request.
{
   "live":"false",
   "notificationItems":[
      {
         "NotificationRequestItem":{
            "amount":{
               "currency":"EUR",
               "value":500
            },
            "eventCode":"CANCELLATION",
            "eventDate":"2018-03-05T09:08:05+01:00",
            "merchantAccountCode":"YOUR_MERCHANT_ACCOUNT",
            "originalReference":"8313547924770610",
            "paymentMethod":"mc",
            "pspReference":"8412534564722331",
            "reason":"",
            "success":"true"
         }
      }
   ]
}
{
   "live":"false",
   "notificationItems":[
      {
         "NotificationRequestItem":{
            "amount":{
               "currency":"EUR",
               "value":500
            },
            "eventCode":"CANCELLATION",
            "eventDate":"2018-03-05T09:08:05+01:00",
            "merchantAccountCode":"YOUR_MERCHANT_ACCOUNT",
            "originalReference":"8313547924770610",
            "paymentMethod":"mc",
            "pspReference":"8412534564722331",
            "reason":"Transaction not found",
            "success":"false"
         }
      }
   ]
}

For more information about the fields included in the CANCELLATION notification, refer to Notifications API.

Technical cancel

The /technicalCancel endpoint allows you to cancel a payment by using the reference that you specified in the original payment request.

Only use technical cancel if:

  1. You don't have the pspReference of the original payment available, for example because of a timeout error.
  2. You are using unique references for payment requests.

In your call to the /technicalCancel endpoint, specify:

  • merchantAccount: The name of your merchant account that is used to process the payment.
  • originalMerchantReference: Your reference from the original payment request.
  • reference: Optionally, you can specify your own reference for this /technicalCancel request.
{
  "merchantAccount": "YOUR_MERCHANT_ACCOUNT",
  "originalMerchantReference": "YOUR_ORIGINAL_REFERENCE",
  "reference": "YOUR_MODIFICATION_REFERENCE"
}

You will receive a /technicalCancel response containing: 

  • pspReference: The PSP reference associated with this /technicalCancel request. Note that this is different from the PSP reference associated with the original payment request.  
{
   "pspReference":"8515208516304269",
   "response":"[technical-cancel-received]"
}

TECHNICAL CANCEL notification

Once we have processed your cancel request, we send you a notification with:

  • eventCodeTECHNICAL_CANCEL
  • pspReference: Same as the pspReference in the /technicalCancel response. 
  • success: Indicates whether the cancel request was successful. 
{
   "live":"false",
   "notificationItems":[
      {
         "NotificationRequestItem":{
            "additionalData":{
               "paymentMethodVariant":"visa"
            },
            "amount":{
               "currency":"EUR",
               "value":5000
            },
            "eventCode":"TECHNICAL_CANCEL",
            "eventDate":"2018-07-18T22:35:14+02:00",
            "merchantAccountCode":"YOUR_MERCHANT_ACCOUNT",
            "merchantReference":"YOUR_ORIGINAL_REFERENCE",
            "originalReference":"8313547924770610",
            "paymentMethod":"visa",
            "pspReference":"8515208516304269",
            "reason":"",
            "success":"true"
         }
      }
   ]
}

For more information about the fields included in the TECHNICAL_CANCEL notification, refer to Notifications API

Cancel in your Customer Area

Payments lifecycle

To cancel a payment, its status has to be Authorised. For more information, refer to Payments lifecycle.

To cancel a payment in your Customer Area:

  1. Go to Transactions > Payments, and click on the payment that you wish to cancel.
    This opens the Payment Details screen.
  2. In the Submit Cancel Request section, click Send Cancel.

To learn how to cancel a transaction in your Customer Area, you can also watch a video here:

See also