In your Customer Area, you can cancel or refund a payment from the Payment list.
Requirements
Before you begin, take into account the following requirements.
| Requirement | Description |
|---|---|
| Integration type | You must be onboarded as a franchisee by your franchisor. For more information, see Onboarding. |
| Customer Area roles | To cancel a payment, you must have the following role: Cancel payments. To refund a payment, you must have the following role: Refund payments. |
How it works
Whether you cancel or refund depends on the payment status. If the status is Authorised, you cancel the payment. If the status is SentForSettle or Settled, you refund it.
Cancel or refund a payment
To cancel or refund a payment:
- Log in to your Customer Area.
- Go to Payments > Payment list.
- Find and select the PSP reference of the payment. The Payment details page opens.
- If the payment can be canceled or refunded, the Cancel tab or Refund tab appears. Select the relevant tab.
- For a refund, in the Refund amount box, enter the amount to refund. You can enter the full authorized amount or a partial amount.
- Select Cancel payment or Refund payment.
- Select Confirm.
The payment status updates in the Payment list:
- For a cancellation, the status changes to Cancelled.
- For a refund, the status changes to SentForRefund, then Refunded when the financial institution confirms.
When you cancel a payment, the full authorized amount is always canceled.
Find your refund letters
To find a refund letter:
- Log in to your Customer Area.
- Go to Payments > Payment list.
- Select the PSP reference of the refund.
- On the Payment details page, select the Refund letter button.
Refund letters are only available for some payment methods, for example Visa and Mastercard.
When a shopper asks about a refund, send them the refund letter as proof. They can share it with their financial institution to help locate the funds.