Are you looking for test card numbers?

Would you like to contact support?

User-management icon

Users

Give your team members access to Essentials.

You can give your team members access to Essentials. Each user can have one or more roles, determining which permissions the user has.
You first get an admin login user for the person whose details were used in the onboarding process. The admin user can then create new users for other people in the team.

View all users

To view users, you need to have the Merchant user management user role.

  1. Log in to Essentials.
  2. Go to Users.

You'll see a list of all users, the merchant accounts they have access to, and when they last logged in.

Create a new user

To create new users, you need to have the Merchant user management user role.
To create a new user:

  1. Log in to Essentials.
  2. Go to Users, and select Create new user in the upper-right corner.
  3. Enter a username and email address of the new user.
  4. Select Create new user.

The new user receives an email with a link to generate a password for their Essentials account. This link expires after 24 hours. If the link expires, you need to send a password reset email.
The new user has all the default roles. You can add or remove roles as needed.

Send a password reset email

If a user does not generate their password within the link expiry time, you need to send a password reset email:

  1. Log in to Essentials.
  2. Go to Users, and select the user.
    This opens the User details page.
  3. On the User details page, select Send password reset.

The new user receives an email with a link to generate a password for their Essentials account.

User roles

You can control a user's permissions by assigning roles. A user can have one or more roles, depending on which tasks they need to perform. Below are all possible roles a user can have:

Role Enabled by default Permissions
Merchant allowed own password reset -white_check_mark- The user can reset their own password.
If you disable this role, the admin user needs to personally perform password resets for this user.
View payments -white_check_mark- The user can look up payments, and access the payment search pages.
Merchant manage payments -white_check_mark- The user can refund payments.
This role must be combined with the View Payments role.
Merchant dispute management -white_check_mark- The user can manage payment disputes (including chargebacks and RFIs) and upload defense documents.
Merchant report role -white_check_mark- The user can download, generate, and subscribe to all reports.
Generate reports -white_check_mark- The user can download and generate all reports.
Download reports -white_check_mark- The user can download all reports.
Merchant POS Terminal View role -white_check_mark- The user can view terminals and stores.
Merchant user management The user can create users, change user permissions, and give out all roles that they themselves have.
Merchant manage bank accounts The user can manage bank accounts for receiving payouts from Adyen.

Add or remove roles

After you created users, you may want to assign other roles, or remove some of the default roles. If you have several merchant accounts, you can also change which accounts the user has access to.
To keep your account safe, each user can only give access to accounts and roles that their own user already has. For example, if your user does not have View Payments role, you can not assign this role to new or existing users. The same applies to merchant accounts.
To add or remove user roles, you need to have the Merchant user management user role.
To add or remove user roles:

  1. Log in to your Essentials.
  2. Go to Users.
  3. Select the user from the User List.
    This opens the User details page.
  4. Select Roles or Account access, and then Edit.
  5. Make your changes.
  6. Select Save.

Deactivate a user

If a user should no longer have access to your account, for example because they left your company, you need to deactivate the user. Due to auditing reasons, you can only deactivate a user, not delete them.
To deactivate users, you need to have the Merchant user management user role.
To deactivate an existing user:

  1. Log in to your Essentials.
  2. Go to Users.
  3. Select the user from the User List.
    This opens the User details page.
  4. Select the action button (...) > Deactivate user.
  5. Select Save.


This user can now no longer access Essentials. If you need to restore the user's access, you can reactivate the user by selecting Reactivate user on the User details page.