Are you looking for test card numbers?

Would you like to contact support?

User-management icon

Manage payments

Learn how to look up and manage payments in your Customer Area.

If you need to refund, cancel, or capture a payment, you can do that either using our APIs, or in your Adyen Customer Area.

On this page, we explain how you can:

Look up payments

In the Customer Area, you can look up information about all payments processed under your company account for different regions and currencies. To see a list of all payments:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments.

For each payment, you can see information including:

  • PSP reference: Adyen's unique 16-character reference for this payment.
  • Merchant reference: Your reference for this payment.
  • Account: The merchant account through which this payment was processed.
    To see only payments processed through a specific merchant account, switch to that merchant account.
  • Date: The date of the payment.
  • Amount: The amount of the payment.
  • Payment method: The payment method used to process this payment.
  • Status: The current status of the payment.
  • Risk score: The risk score of the payment. This is useful to check if a payment is flagged as fraudulent and refused. To learn more about risk scores, see Risk management.

You can use the Filter bar at the top of the page to filter payments by Date, Status, Amount, Currency, and other properties. You can also use the search box to look for a specific PSP reference, Merchant reference, or payment amount.

Payment details

For more information about a payment, select the PSP reference of that payment in the payments list. This opens the Payment Details page, where you can view details such as:

  • Payment lifecycle: The history of different statuses that the payment has gone through.

  • Payment events: You can find here the Acquirer Reference Number (ARN), which can be used to track a refund.

  • Processing: Includes the fraud score assigned to the payment, whether 3D Secure was applied, and whether a liability shift occurred.

  • Transaction cost: Fees associated to the payment.

To see how to look up a payment, you can also watch a video here:

Refund a payment

If you want to return the funds to your shopper, for example if they returned an item, you need to refund the payment.

To be able to refund payments, you must have this user role:

  • Merchant manage payments

To refund a payment:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments, and select the PSP reference of the payment that you want to refund.
    This opens the Payment Details page.
  3. Select Manage payment in the upper right corner of the page, then Refund payment.

    Refund payment is only available if the payment has been captured (if the status is SentForSettle or Settled).

  4. Confirm the details of the refund:
    • Amount: The amount you want to refund. This must be either the same or, in case of a partial refund, less than the captured amount.
    • Reference: Your reference for the refund request.
  5. Select the Refund this payment checkbox, then select the Refund payment button in the lower right corner of the page.

To see how to refund a payment, you can also watch a video here:

Cancel a payment

Separate capture

To learn if a payment method supports separate capture, refer to the payment method page, for example for Cards or iDEAL.

For payment methods that support separate capture, you might want to cancel the payment before it has been captured, for example when an item is out of stock. Cancelling the payment releases the funds back to the shopper.

To cancel payments, you must have this user role:

  • Merchant manage payments

To cancel a payment:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments, and select the PSP reference of the payment that you want to cancel.
    This opens the Payment Details page.
  3. Select Manage payment in the upper right corner of the page, then Cancel payment.

    Cancel payment is only available if the payment has not yet been captured (if the status is Authorised).

  4. Enter the confirmation code and select Cancel payment in the lower right corner of the page.

To see how to cancel a payment, you can also watch a video here:

Capture a payment

For payment methods that support separate capture, you might want to capture the payment manually, for example when the goods have been shipped. Capturing the payment triggers the funds to be transferred from the shopper to your account.

To capture payments, you must have this user role:

  • Merchant manage payments

To capture a payment:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments, and select the PSP reference of the payment that you want to capture.
    This opens the Payment Details page.
  3. Select Manage payment in the upper right corner of the page, then Capture payment.

    Capture payment is only available if the payment has not yet been captured (if the status is Authorised).

  4. Confirm the payment details:
    • Amount: The amount you want to capture.
    • Reference: Your reference for the capture request.
  5. Select Capture this payment checkbox, then select the Submit capture request button in the lower right corner of the page.

Check why a payment was refused

To find out more about why a payment was refused:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments, and select the PSP reference of the refused payment. This opens the Payment Details page.
  3. Check the reason for the refusal in the Processing > Acquirer response field. For a list of reasons for payment refusals, see Refusal reasons.
    If the value in the Acquirer response field is FRAUD, you can find out more information within the Customer Area. Select the Fraud scoring number in the Processing section. You can then see the risk results page for the payment. Payments with a fraud score of 100 or more are automatically refused.

    If the Acquirer response field only shows Refused, ask your shopper to check with their bank to know why the payment was refused.

To see how to check a refused payment, you can also watch a video here:

Re-authorize a payment

There might be times where you want to re-authorize a payment, for example if the payment was not captured in time and the authorization expired. You can also use re-authorize if you refunded the wrong amount to a customer and now you want to recover all or part of the funds.

Risks of re-authorizing

  • It is not guaranteed that you will receive the funds, because the re-authorized payment can still be refused by the issuer. Adyen has no control over this.
  • The shopper might initiate a chargeback, because they will see a new charge on their account. We recommend that you reach out to the shopper before you re-authorize the payment.
  • In the event of a chargeback you will be liable for the chargeback amount, because you initiated the payment, not the shopper.

How to re-authorize a payment

You can re-authorize a payment if the most recent journal type is one of the following:

  • Cancelled
  • Expired
  • Refunded
  • RefundedBulk
  • RefundedExternally

You can only re-authorize payments made using these payment methods:

  • Card: Mastercard, Visa, American Express, UnionPay, JCB, Diners, Discover
  • iDEAL
  • Sofort
  • SEPA Direct Debit

To re-authorize payments, you must have this user role:

  • Merchant re-authorise payments

To re-authorize a payment:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Transactions > Payments, and select the PSP reference of the payment you want to re-authorize.
    This opens the Payment Details page.
  3. Select Manage payment, then Re-authorize payment. If the Re-authorize payment option is not available, check that you have the required user role and that the payment is eligible to be re-authorized.
  4. You can optionally fill in the fields below:
    • Amount - if the amount is different from the original transaction amount.
    • Reference - if you leave this blank your original reference for the transaction will be used.
    • Capture delay (hours) - you can specify a number of hours after which the payment will be captured. Set this to 0 to capture the payment immediately. If you leave this field blank, the capture settings on your account determine when the payment is captured.
  5. Check the box to confirm you have understood the risks of re-authorizing a transaction.
  6. Select Submit re-authorization.

See also