Are you looking for test card numbers?

Would you like to contact support?

User-management icon

Manage users

Allow members of your organization to manage different parts of your Adyen account.

Users let people in your organization access the Customer Area, where they can view and manage different parts of your Adyen account. You can control a user's permissions by assigning roles, and by specifying which merchant accounts they can access.

When you sign up for an Adyen account, you get an admin login for the Customer Area. The admin user has the most common roles and access to all linked merchant accounts. As the admin user, you can then create new users for other people in your organization. We recommend that users have two-factor authentication enabled for their account.

On this page, you'll learn how to:

View your own roles

To see which roles are assigned to your own user:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Select the support icon in the top right corner, then select My user.
  3. In the Roles pane, select the arrow to see a list of all roles assigned to your user. You can also search for a specific role.

Create a user

To be able to create users, you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Merchant admin
  • Merchant user management

To create a user:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area, and go to Settings > Users. This opens the User list with all users linked to your company account.
  2. Select Create new user.
  3. For User details, enter a username for the new user, and their email address. Use a unique email address for each user. Select Continue.

  4. For Accounts, you can choose which accounts the user will be able to access. Remember that you can only give access to merchant accounts and account groups that your own user already has. For example, if you give access to an account group that contains merchant accounts A, B, and C, but you only have access to A and B, the new user will also only have access to A and B.

  5. For Roles, you can only assign roles that your own user already has. For a list of all possible roles, see user roles. If you need to assign a role that neither you nor your admin user has, contact our Support Team.
  6. In the Summary page you can review and edit the details, accounts, and roles you assigned to the new user.
  7. Select Create new user.

The new user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and set up a password for their Customer Area account.

This new user verification link is only valid for two weeks. If the link expires, you need to resend an email verification to the user.

To see how to create a user, you can also watch a video here:

Resend email verification

If the user does not verify their email address and create a password within the link expiry time, you need to resend them an email verification:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.

  2. Go to Settings > Users, and select the user from the User List.

  3. In the User details pane, select Resend email verification.

The user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and to create a password for their Customer Area account.

This email verification link is only valid for 24 hours.

Send a password reset email

If the user has forgotten their password, you need to send them a password reset email:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.

  2. Go to Settings > Users, and select the user from the User List.

  3. In the User details pane, select Send password reset.

The user receives an email with a link to create a password for their Customer Area account.

This password reset link is only valid for 24 hours.

Duplicate an existing user

Duplicating an existing user allows you to quickly create a new user with the same permissions as an existing user. This is useful, for example, if several people in your organization need to perform the same payments-related tasks.

Since you can only assign permissions that your own user already has, it is possible that the new user has fewer permissions than the user you want to duplicate. For example, if you duplicate a user who has the Risk admin role, but you don't have this role yourself, the duplicate user won't have this role either.

To be able to duplicate users, you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Merchant admin
  • Merchant user management

To duplicate an existing user:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area, and go to Settings > Users. This opens the Users list with all users linked to your company account.
  2. Select the copy button in the Actions column next to the user that you want to duplicate.
  3. Enter a username and email address for the new user. The Accounts and Roles panes show the accounts and roles the duplicate user has access to.
  4. Select Create user.

The new user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and create a password for their Customer Area account.

This new user link is only valid for two weeks. If the link expires, you need to resend an email verification to the user.

View and change user permissions

After you create a user, you may want to assign them other roles or change their account access. Remember that you can only assign roles or give access to accounts that your own user already has.

To change user permissions, you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Merchant admin
  • Merchant user management

To change a user's permissions:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area, and go to Settings > Users.
  2. Select the user from the User List. This opens the user details page.
  3. Select the edit icon and make your changes.
  4. Select Save.

Delete an existing user

If you want to remove the access permissions of a user, for example, because they have left your company, you need to deactivate the user.

To be able to deactivate users, you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Merchant admin
  • Merchant user management

To deactivate an existing user:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area, and go to Settings > Users.
  2. Select the user from the User List. This opens the user details page. You cannot deactivate the user you are logged in with.
  3. Select Deactivate user and then select Deactivate in the pop-up window to confirm.

This user can now no longer access the Customer Area. If you need to restore the user's access, select Reactivate user on the user details page.

Get an overview of all users

The Users within a company report includes the roles assigned to a user, and the last time the user logged in to the Customer Area.

To be able to generate the Users within a company report, you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Merchant admin
  • Merchant report

To generate this report:

  1. Log in to your Customer Area.
  2. Go to Reports.
  3. Search for the Users within a company report.
  4. Select Generate. This opens a window to configure the report:
    • To generate the report for a specific user, enter their username.
    • To generate the report for all users within your company account, leave the username field empty.
    • You can also exclude accounts, account groups, and roles from the report.
  5. Choose the File type for the report.
  6. Select Generate report. This automatically downloads the report.

See also