Default icon

Manage users

Allow members of your organization to manage different functionalities in your Balance Platform Customer Area.

User accounts enable the people in your organization to access your Customer Area and Balance Platform Customer Area. With your admin user account, you can provide each user with a specific set of permissions to perform certain actions. You control your user's permissions by assigning roles to them.

On this page, you can learn how to:

View user roles

The following tabs explain how to see which roles are assigned to a user.

To view the roles of a user in your Customer Area:

  1. In the navigation menu, select the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. On the Users page, select a user from the list.
  4. On the User details page, expand the Roles section to view the list of roles assigned to the user.

Create a user

The following tabs explain how to create a user account.

Before you begin: Ensure that you have the Merchant admin role.

To create users in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. In the Users page, select Create new user.
  4. Enter a unique username and email address for the new user, then select Continue.
  5. Choose which balance platform accounts you want the user to access in the Customer Area, then select Continue.
  6. Assign roles to the new user, then select Continue. Contact our Support Team if you need to assign a role that you do not have yet.
  7. Review the user details. You can edit incorrect information by selecting the edit icon in the appropriate section.
  8. Select Create new user.

To ensure the correct support type for 3D Secure on the card program, contact our Support Team.

The new user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and set up a password for their Customer Area account. This new user verification link is only valid for two weeks. If the link expires, you need to resend the verification email to the user.

Resend verification email

If the user does not verify their email address and create a password before the link expires, you need to resend verification email.

You can resend the email in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users, and search for your user.
  3. In the Email column of the user, select Resend email verification.

The user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and to create a password for their Customer Area account. This email verification link is only valid for 24 hours.

Duplicate a user

Duplicating a user allows you to quickly create a new user with the same permissions as an existing user. This can be useful if several people in your organization need to perform the same tasks.

You can only assign roles that your own user already has. For this reason, the new user may have fewer permissions than the user you are duplicating. For example, if you duplicate a user who has the Initiate transfers role, but you don't have this role yourself, the duplicate user won't have this role either.

You can duplicate users in both your Customer Area and Balance Platform Customer Area.

Before you begin: Ensure that you have the Merchant admin role.

To duplicate a user in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. Select the copy button in the Actions column next to the user that you want to duplicate.
  4. Enter a username and email address for the new user. The Accounts and Roles sections show the new user's access and permissions.
  5. Select Create user.

The new user receives an email with a link to verify their email address and create a password for their Customer Area account. This new user link is only valid for two weeks. If the link expires, you need to resend the verification email to the user.

Send a password reset email

If a user forgets their password, you can send them a password reset email.

You can send a password reset email from both your Customer Area and Balance Platform Customer Area.

Before you begin: Ensure you have the Merchant admin role.

To send a password reset email in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. Select the user from the list.
  4. On the User details page, select Send password reset.

The user receives an email with a link to create a new password for their Customer Area account. This password reset link is only valid for 24 hours.

If you forget your own password, enter your username and select Forgot your password? on the login page to request a password reset link.

View and change user permissions

After you create a user, you can assign them other roles or change their account access. You can only assign roles or give access to accounts that your own user already has.

You can change user permissions in both your Customer Area and Balance Platform Customer Area.

Before you begin: Ensure you have the Merchant admin role.

To change a user's permissions in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. Select the user from the list.
  4. In the User details page, select the edit icon and make your changes.
  5. Select Save.

Deactivate a user

If you want to remove the access permissions of a user, for example, because they have left your company, you need to deactivate the user.

You can deactivate users in both your Customer Area and Balance Platform Customer Area.

Before you begin: Ensure you have the Balance platform admin role.

To deactivate a user in your Customer Area:

  1. Switch to the merchant account linked to your balance platform.
  2. Select Platforms > Users.
  3. Select the user from the list.
  4. Select Deactivate user.
  5. Select Deactivate in the pop-up window to confirm.

You cannot deactivate the user you are currently logged in with.

When a user is deactivated, their session is also terminated. The user can no longer access the Customer Area. If you need to restore the user's access, select Reactivate user on their User details page.

Multifactor authentication

As of March 26th, 2024, it will be mandatory for all users to log in with multifactor authentication.

Multifactor authentication (MFA) helps keep your account safe by requiring multiple forms of verification to log in. In your Balance Platform Customer Area, you can register a device for your own user, and see the details and remove registered devices for your own user and other users in your organization.

Register a device

MFA is set up on your device through an authentication app (such as Google Authenticator, Okta Verify, or Microsoft Authenticator), which generates an authentication code on your mobile device.

To register a device for MFA:

  1. In your Balance Platform Customer Area, go to your own user's details page.
  2. Under Multifactor authentication, select Add authentication.
  3. Register your device using your authenticator app.
  4. Select Add.

Once the device is registered, it is mandatory to use an authentication code to log in.

Manage devices

Allows you to see the details and remove registered devices. To manage your users' devices, you must have the Merchant Admin role.

To manage the devices used for MFA:

  1. In your Balance Platform Customer Area, navigate to the details page of the user whose device you want to manage: My user for your own user, or the User details page of another user in your organization.
    Under Multifactor authentication, you can see the details of all registered devices.
  2. To remove a device, select the delete icon next to it.
  3. To replace your own removed device with another, register a new device.